What’s in Bethie’s Postbox #33 – Special Delivery

About a month and a half ago I was randomly going through Reddit i.e. using the Random Subreddit Button and came across r/plantedtank. I was mesmerized by the planted aquariums that Redditors were posting. I clicked on every link in that subreddit that day and learned so many things about having a planted aquarium. Next I learned about r/shrimptank – people keep shrimp instead of fish. Then there was r/bettafish and r/aquariums. This adventure through Reddit re-kindled my interested in aquariums. I had a few aquariums in my teenage years. When I moved to Washington they were given to my neighbor.

Through all the research I did I found out that you could make a low-tech (No CO2) planted aquarium. Even better I found out it was possible to do a low light, low tech planted aquarium. The idea of the jar-rarium was born. I am constantly doing research on this because I want to get everything right i.e. no dying flora and fauna. I also wanted to do this economically, hence the low light, low tech idea. So far a 1 gallon jar has been purchased and some substrate…but I waited a few weeks before purchasing the fauna. Today it arrived in the mail.

Out of the box with a warning!
Out of the box with a warning!
Wrapped in Fiberglass
Wrapped in Fiberglass
more newspaper and a plastic bag
more newspaper and a plastic bag
Fauna
Fauna
Anubias Nana Petite
Anubias Nana Petite
Golden Lloydiella, Gold Creeping Jenny
Golden Lloydiella, Gold Creeping Jenny
Crinum Natans
Crinum Natans
IMG_20150313_130227
Cryptocoryne undulata
You need something to help trim and plant your fauna
You need something to help trim and plant your fauna

The plan is to get the plants planted in the jar when I get home. Will update with pictures soonish.

Leave a Reply

