Reddit Secret Santa Comes Through!

I had been anticipating it for weeks. What could a stranger across the globe give me for Christmas? Especially since I am more of a Reddit lurker. My mind had been racing with all the possibilities. Today my mind was put at ease when my boyfriend told me I had received a package in the mail. There were a thousand questions I wanted to ask, but since I had waited this long a few more hours wouldn’t hurt.

Racing home from dinner I found a small white envelope on our old wooden desk. I felt the weight of it in my hand as I looked for clues from it’s origin. Nadia in the Netherlands. Opening the package I pulled out a stack of what I assumed was stationery tied up in a shiny green ribbon. A note written on floral notebook paper was the first thing I noticed. Followed by something that said A letter…I better read the note first. Nadia had written a brief note explaining it had taken her longer than expected to put the gift together.Then she stated that most of it was handwritten. I was intrigued; removing the green ribbon I found before me a stack of envelopes. Each letter has a reason for when they are to be opened. Each letter also has a picture either drawn, or painted or both.

The first envelope said “A letter for when it’s actually Christmas.” I opened the envelope and pulled out a Christmas postcard with a family of pigs decorating for Christmas. The note on the back explained the lenghts of her snooping. She looked at my Instagram, Twitter, Flickr (haven’t used in a year), Blog (obviously not current) and even my boyfriend’s Instagram (he only has pictures of the cats).That is a thorough amount of snooping!

The rest of the envelopes are:
A letter for when you want to spend time with just your boyfriend
A letter for when you feel like baking
A letter for when you want to play a game with friends.
A letter for your next birthday
A letter for when you have some free time and want to do something awesome by yourself 🙂
A letter for when you feel lonely or unhappy
A letter for when you are fourty
A letter for when you feel like being active outside
A letter for when you feel like trying something new

10 envelopes total.

This means so much to my, my hurt is bursting with happiness right now. Nadia did such a great job, mainly because I absolutely love mail and getting letters. Also the themes of the envelopes hit a lot of my hobbies and life in general. I am tempted to open all the envelopes now, but I will wait and open them according to their purpose.

Thank you Nadia! You are a wonderful human being.

P.S. Contents of the envelopes will be posted on the blog in the future.

The letter from my secret santa
The letter from my secret santa
The stack of envelopes
The stack of envelopes
Contents of the Christmas envelope - pig postcard
Contents of the Christmas envelope – pig postcard
All the Envelopes!
All the Envelopes!
the try something new envelope
the try something new envelope
the feeling outdoorsy envelope
the feeling outdoorsy envelope
open when you are fourty envelope
open when you are fourty envelope
unhappy and lonely envelope
unhappy and lonely envelope
the hanging out by yourself envelope
the hanging out by yourself envelope
The next birthday envelope (only 11 months to go)
The next birthday envelope (only 11 months to go)
play a game with friends envelope
play a game with friends envelope
the baking envelope
the baking envelope
alone time with the boyfriend envelope
alone time with the boyfriend envelope
the christmas envelope
the christmas envelope
2 thoughts on “Reddit Secret Santa Comes Through!

Leave a Reply

