Job Tools

Most of the jobs I have held in the past, except for two, have required me to take a survey about the company for which I was working. One of the questions in these surveys that I remember is: Do you have the tools to do your job?

I would usually answer yes because all I would need to do my job would be pens and a cash till. I wasn’t doing rocket science so there wasn’t much that was needed. 

However if my current job were to ask me if I have the tools to do my job my answer would be a resounding “no”. I am writing this while our main system in which we do work is down. It’s been down for several hours at this point and we were told over an hour ago that it would be fixed within the hour. Ha! Apparently someone needs a watch.

This is not the first time this system has gone down this month. A few weeks ago, due to a system update (allegedly) only 200 people could be logged into the system and 244 people were trying to use the system. That was unacceptable. We are living in the 21st Century we shouldn’t have technological issues like this or small oversights where only 200 people of a 500 person company can share one system.

However, we never run out of paper clips.

Leave a Reply

