Relationship Archaeology

Archaeology is the scientific study of historic or prehistoric peoples and their cultures by analysis of their artifacts, inscriptions, monuments, and other such remains.*  Archaeologists study past cultures by examining artifacts, objects made, used or changed by humans.*

Relationships tend to leave behind “artifacts”. There are emotional artifacts such as memories and emotional damages or changes. This is not going to focus on those types of artifacts; however they are important because they affect how we interact in our future relationships. Then there are the tangible tokens or presents received from the significant other or friend. There are two pottery shards in my relationship archeology.

The first artifact is Japanese Animation (Anime). He-who-will-not-be-named had a wide and interesting Anime collection and got me to sit down and watch films by Studio Ghibli. He never actually gave me films to keep, but he peaked my interest to the point where he inspired me to see many films which he had not. There is just something about a Hayao Miyazaki film that will stick with you for a long time. My interest in Anime caused me to name one of my Kittehs after the main character in “Spirited Away” and I am in the process of increasing my Anime movie collection. If I ever attend ComicCon I will dress as Witch Hunter Robin. These are tangible artifacts that I have accumulated.

The second artifact is from a short-lived relationship a couple of years ago. One could argue that this is not a tangible artifact, and it is only another object that I have obtained myself. In my bathroom, next to my sink, is a bottle of “Dancing Waters” anti-bacterial hand soap. There is just something about the clean scent of that soap that makes me happy. However I am not a fan of any other “Dancing Waters” product, only the foaming soap. This ex had the same soap in his bathroom. My bottle is nearly empty and even though it is my favorite soap I will not buy a new bottle.

What artifacts do you still have from your relationships?


* http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/archaeology

*http://bama.ua.edu/~alaarch/Whatisarchaeology/index.htm

4 thoughts on “Relationship Archaeology

  1. I don’t have artifacts from previous relationships in a physical form, but my love of anime was formed when I started watching anime (Excel Saga) for a previous flame. The flame died (well, more crashed and burned) but the anime stuck around, which gave me something to talk to Andrew about. ^_^

    Right now, a lot of aspects of my spouse have become integrated as part of my personality which has become part of day-to-day life. I can’t help but wonder how much of my day-to-day things are things I picked up from Andrew.

    1. I think that happens in a lot of marriages or any long term relationships that, aspects of that person become integrated into your personality. I wonder what your personality was like pre-Andrew 🙂

Leave a Reply

