Thirst

You see me everyday, yet you don’t take care of me. I bring you joy and I bring you health, yet you don’t take care of me. I sit here and spread my cheer to the best of my ability, yet you don’t take care of me.

I am starting to fade. Slowly curling into myself. The light of life is slowly growing dim. Parts of me are becoming brittle and crisp. I could fall at any moment. Your neglect makes me sad.

I want to grow. I want to stretch. I want to bring forth new life. I want to live. But you keep me restrained. I have no room to move, to breath.

I worry about any other living thing in your care. Do you treat them the same way? Are they still alive? Do they live in such small confines?

I just need water and food. That is all I ask for, it is a simple request. Yet you don’t seem able to manage just a single splash of refreshing water. It will keep me alive for a little while longer.

A hand gripped a half full bottle of water. The cubicle dweller leaned towards their window and poured the water on the wilting plant.

Relief!

 

2 thoughts on “Thirst

Leave a Reply

