Meh is the new Bah Humbug

I am not Scrooge and I am not The Grinch, but I have lost the Christmas spirit. It happened sometime between now and earlier. I can’t really put my finger on when it happened but try as I might I can’t get the Christmas spirit back. I was excited when I realized that I would have a bit of extra money for Christmas presents this year so it could be a happy Christmas for everyone!

But now it’s like meh. Presents cost money and according to my bank account I don’t have much left until the next payday.  Try as I might, I can’t get the excitement for the holiday I once had to return. I listen to Christmas music while I do chores. I went to a Gingerbread House competition. I’ve been enjoying the Advent services at church, which I usually don’t enjoy. But still all I can do is shrug my shoulders and say “meh – that was kind of fun”.

An unusual amount of drama has appeared in the last month which includes family, work and the boyfriend; which could have increased my mehness for the holiday.  The past month has been extremely busy. Things are supposed to be hectic around the holidays but an enjoyable hectic, because that waiting in line for an hour to check out was worth it once you see the look on your friend’s face when they open the gift you purchased for them.

I am still recovering from NaNoWriMo. I haven’t vacuumed in a month and I am sure that I’m walking on a carpet of cat hair instead of a microfiber carpet. Laundry is piling up. Light bulbs need to be replaced.  Present still need to be purchased, wrapped and mailed off. I only have two hands! An extra two pairs would be great.

 Dear Santa,

All I want for Christmas is an extra set of hands. And a Hippopotamus.

Kthxbai,

    Betty

One thought on “Meh is the new Bah Humbug

  1. I totally agree with the Meh feeling about the holidays…. For me I wish I had a clone, but don’t think anyone would want 2 of me running around… Anywoo, Happy Holidays to you and here’s hoping things get better….

Leave a Reply

