NaNoWriMo Day 6 & Day 7

Oh my gosh! Playing catch up on NaNoWriMo can be hard work.  I wasn’t that far behind, but when certain parts of the story are more painful to write than others it becomes tedious.  Day 6 I was only able to write a couple hundred words before the real world crept in with errands, repairs on the laptop, and helping my fella go car shopping.

I had all intention of spending the majority of my lovely Sunday to NaNoWriMo. However a 3-hourish nap got in the way. So I spent my evening painstakingly playing catch up.  I used “Labyrinth” and “Alice in Wonderland” as background noise/inspiration.  Unfortunately they didn’t really inspire and were more of a distraction.  The boring parts of my story became even more boring to me.  When I hit the day 6 word goal I switched gears. I shut myself away with nothing but my laptop and music. I only had the interwebs and texting to distract me.  The result was much more satisfactory. I am also picking up on which characters I am enjoying to write about. I think I will concentrate on them instead of the 3 other storylines.  I can always go back after NaNoWriMo and add the parts I had intended to write earlier.

Here is an excerpt from Day 7 – please keep in mind this is NaNo writing so it won’t be perfect, but it amused me so I thought I would share:

A guard that was posted at the gate gave Asalie a curious look when he saw the expression on her face. It was like she was a child with a newly discovered toy.  It had been a long time since he had seen that much joy and excitement on one person’s face. Her enthusiasm rubbed off on him as she passed by.  He greeted the next group of travelers entering the city with a big smile. He stopped when he noticed his partner on the other side of the gate frowning at him.

Leave a Reply

