NaNoWriMo Day 3

Day 3 of NaNoWriMo will be over in a couple hours for those of us who live on the west coast. And if you are trying to keep up with the daily goal of 1667 words a day, you should have written 5001 by 11.59pm. For me day three was not quite as bad as day one but the story didn’t go as smoothly as day 2. I am enjoying my story and some of the twists and turns my fingers and over active brain have created. (For instance my main character has a strong desire to be married, I didn’t intend for that to happen, but it’s on the page so I am stuck with it until the editing process). But I am not enjoying it as much as I did in my first successful NaNoWriMo attempt.

It has become apparent to me how much more I need to learn about writing and developing certain aspects of a novel.  For instance my first NaNoWriMo was lacking in a society and government. Yes there were people in charge, but there wasn’t anything about how they became in charge or how the society worked. I am attempting to write more about the socio-economic parts of this kingdom or land I have created. And it’s tough. I have a degree in History, so I get the basics of different types of government, but trying to create your own and explain it in a way that makes sense to potential readers seems to be a difficult part of the writing process for me.

On a happier note I am grateful for all the encouragement and help I am getting from friends and co-workers.  In some ways writing and NaNoWriMo are a group effort.  It takes more than one person to make a novel come together.  Not only are my friends and co-workers encouraging they are also creative in their own right. I have been given many a good idea on things to add in my novel.  I don’t want to give too many of them away in case the end up in the novel.  If I were to ever become a published author I know that my acknowledgement’s pages would probably be as long as the book itself.

Special thanks goes to:  Katie, Katie’s hubby Tony, Christa, James, Emily, Michelle, Heidi, Henna, the handful of new people I have met via Twitter in the last few days and The Mon-Kay!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 3

Leave a Reply

