A Little Bit of Green*

I know this post is late considering St. Patrick’s Day was awhile ago. One could also consider this early because this recipe would also work for Christmas as well.  But anyways it’s all in how you look at it and I’ve been a busy gal (see previous posts about layoffs/firings at work).

I am not taking any credit for this recipe. I had my first taste of pepper jelly tartlets a couple years ago made by my friend Tuesday. I’ve been addicted ever since.  She in turn got the recipe from the Aloha from Oregon website.  They specialize in unique jellies and butters and other odds and ends.  If you would like more information you can visit them here.

So the back story behind making pepper jelly tartlets for the very first time begins at work.  My department used to have a monthly potluck, however, do to all the shenanigans that have been going on there we only do a quarterly potluck. Each potluck has a theme, i.e. Mexican, Chinese…etc. Well this time the theme was green because it was going to be held on St. Patrick’s Day. When I read the email I immediately knew that I didn’t want to do something that would involve using food coloring.  The idea of doing jalapeño pepper jelly tartlets popped into my head.   I told a few of my co-workers about what I was making and was only met with confused looks. They had no idea what I was talking about.  In exasperation I told them they would have to wait and see and taste on potluck day.

This is how you make pepper jelly tartlets (as emailed to me by my friend Tuesday):

2 cups grated cheddar cheese (8oz)
1/2 cup (1 stick)softened Butter
1 cup flour
1/2 t. Paprika
1 t. salt

Combine all ingredients well. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 minutes. Use a rounded teaspoon of the dough and form into a mini muffin pan, (or place on a placing sheet) and make a fairly deep thumbprint in each. Fill with pepper jelly and bake in a preheated 400F oven for approximately 10 minutes. Let cool before serving (or as long as you can stand to wait! But watch out! These are very hot when they first come out of the oven!)

However I prepared mine a little bit differently. I did use the correct ingredient amounts; unfortunately I did not wait long enough for the butter to soften. I am always confused by what it means exactly when the recipe says softened butter…I never seem to wait long enough. It took me far longer to combine all the ingredients then it should have.  Once my tartlet crust had chilled I used a teaspoon and broke off pieces of the crust and rolled them into about one inch balls I placed each ball into the cups of a mini muffin pan. Then I used a ¼ teaspoon and pressed little divots or holes into the dough.  They were the perfect size to hold the pepper jelly. I used the same ¼ teaspoon to put the jelly into the tartlet crust. I ended up baking the tartlets for about 11 minutes instead of 10. Not sure why I did that but it seemed like a good idea at the time.  This yielded 29 tartlets. I am sure I could have gotten a few more depending on the uniformity of the dough balls. Also because I was using a jelly product I got super sticky. I am not sure if there is a way to avoid it.

The tartlets were a success at the work potluck. I say that because there were none left on the platter by the end of the day (I guess someone could have thrown them out).  One co-worker stated they were very good, very savory. Another co-worker stated that he did like them and I did a good job (actually I don’t remember what he said exactly just that he liked them).

The beginning of the tarts
More balls!
super sticky
This was my method for spooning the jelly into the tarts.

*I take no credit for this recipe. It was given to me by a friend, who got it off a website. I in no way changed the recipe to make it my own, just my method of preparation was different.  Also a special thanks goes out to Jen who loaned me her mini muffin pan so I wouldn’t have to buy one in these tough economic times.

Done!
All ready for the work potluck!
One thought on “A Little Bit of Green*

Leave a Reply

