Old MacDonald Had a Farmville Account

It seems like every day I have an invite from my Facebook friends to join Farmville. I politely decline every time. This fad is not something I can get behind and I am getting tired of all the invitations. I even had one instance where an hour after telling a friend I did not want to join Farmville an invitation showed up from them on my Facebook page.  There are several reasons why I will continue to decline Farmville invitations.

 The first reason is because I don’t understand the appeal.  Yes I know that the graphics and your little farming avatar are cute. But what is the fun of just clicking your mouse all day? You click to plant your crops. You click to water/fertilize your crops. You click to harvest your crops. Click. Click. Click. It seems like a mundane task. There is the aspect of helping out your “neighbor” which has merit and seems like the only way to get ahead in the game. 

 The second reason is because it is time consuming. To be successful at this game you must spend a lot of time on the internet, especially if your “neighbors” are not giving you a helping hand.  As I mentioned above, all this time on the internet is just spent clicking your mouse. Once your crops have been planted, you have to wait for them to be harvested. I have never actually stuck around long enough while someone was playing to see how long this task takes to complete. Even for someone who has a lot of free time on the internet, such as during work, I don’t see why they would spend it playing Farmville.

 The final reason I don’t want to play Farmville is because there is no struggle. There is nothing negative that happens in the game. I do know that if you don’t log in for a long period of time your crops might wilt or something, but that is easily fixed when you return.  But where is the realism to farming??? There are no plagues of locusts, no brush fires. In the very least there isn’t a fox in the hen house.  Where is the challenge of this game?

One thought on “Old MacDonald Had a Farmville Account

  1. I completely agree, I tried it once & sent/received gifts for like 2 days (5 minutes playing each day) then my crops all died because no “friend” helped me out when I couldn’t get to the computer (and, like I have time for that stuff????) If I’m on the computer it has to be beneficial for my family…. p.s. here’s some positivity for you. I hope you like it!++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Leave a Reply

